Flying Into the Country, NTU Campus and Life in General

I’m notoriously bad at giving myself overly ambitious timeframes, but I’m pretty sure I outdid myself with my Nicaragua –> Toronto –> Singapore transition. To put things in perspective, I left Nicaragua on January 3rd, arrived in Toronto on the 4th, packed up my life up and magically obtained a student visa by the 7th and was in Singapore by the 9th. Needless to say, it was a busy couple of days!

The journey to Singapore took 2 full days, so by the time I arrived in Singapore, time already had too little meaning for me to be jet lagged – I was eating breakfast at 2am on the 7th and drinking a Singapore Sling the same time the next day, my body was just tired and plain old confused. However, the fact that I had finally arrived in Singapore was more than enough to completely re-energize me. Being perfectly honest, even seeing the Marina Bay Sands hotel from a distance (during our cab ride from the airport to campus) was probably enough to keep me going for several days, I squealed so much! Since Nanyang is literally on the opposite side of the country from the airport (shhhhh, I know this isn’t really saying anything at all compared to any other country other than Vatican City, Monaco or Malta, but STILL!), I had plenty of opportunity to realize how true everything I had heard about the city being clean was. Even during morning rush hour, the streets seemed spotless – and GREEN! I was definitely not prepared for the city basically doubling as a forest! Even the McDonald’s has a green roof!

After an hour of oooooooh-ing and awwwww-ing the city, I was able to go through the same process on campus. The rolling hills, modern buildings and lush greenery were probably too pretty for our cab driver, he got lost at every turn and had to ask for directions several times. It was getting dangerously close to orientation, but I was too busy soaking in the scenery to really care myself.

If this is just the arts BUILDING, I'd love to see what they have inside!

If this is just the arts BUILDING, I’d love to see what they have inside!

I ended up making it to Hall 7 just in time to meet my roommate (who, fortunately, was going to orientation as well and knew how to get there), chuck my suitcase in my room and book it to orientation.

(not like I had much time to fully appreciate "the pretty hall" right then)

(not like I had much time to fully appreciate “the pretty hall” right then)

After an uneventful 2hours of listening to how you need to watch your health because people in Singapore are prone to the occasional mild cough or cold, some of my fellow exchangees and I went to the city to hunt for living necessities (read: comfy pillows and cheap cell phones).

The nearby mall we selected as our hunting grounds also surpassed everything I’d heard about the magic of Singapore shopping. Rolex and Gucci stores popped up like weeds, and every corner you turned seemed to bring you to another corner of the world: we ended up eating dinner on Japan Street!

IMG_4410

Despite wanting to continue on to a night out, my body reminded me that I hadn’t had a full sleep in over 3 days and forced me into bed.

8 thoughts on “Flying Into the Country, NTU Campus and Life in General

  1. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It’s always useful to read through content from other writers and practice something from their websites.

  2. I have been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles
    or weblog posts on this sort of house . Exploring in Yahoo I at
    last stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So
    i’m satisfied to express that I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I discovered
    just what I needed. I so much indisputably will make sure to do not disregard this site and give it a glance regularly.

  3. I’m extremely inspired along with your writing talents and also with the format on your weblog.

    Is that this a paid theme or did you modify it your self?
    Either way keep up the excellent high quality writing, it’s rare to look a nice blog like this one these days..

  4. I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this info for my mission.

  5. Pingback: Applying to University? Things to think about | tourist in my own land

Leave a Reply

