How Market Shopping In Bangkok Ruined My Life

In my last post, I left off on a pirate-ing high, just scoring my first piece of pirate treasure gold: an ever-useful pair of Thai fishing pants. From there, I’ll admit I caught a bit of treasure hunting psychosis.

Pirate Judi

Gifts, dresses, headbands and shirts were purchased. Each requiring careful treasure map consultation (to ensure that a better deal was not hiding behind the corner) and fierce pirate sword fighting (haggling with shop vendors).

I was on (what I thought was) an unstoppable raid. Then, one treasure I found took me completely off guard. It was a just a simple, unassuming bunny tank top with a poem printed upon it, but that was what made it so shocking (to me, anyways). The bunny’s poem basically summed up the entirety of (what I used to consider) one of my more insightful posts: A Hypothetical Response.

Photo on 2013-03-12 at 14.39

Yes, I know the poem is a bit difficult to read, so I’ll spell it out for you:

The year is through

So what will I do?

Something exciting

Fantastic and new?

Something tremendous

Something stupendous

Something that makes

All my wishes come true?

Or maybe the same

As the year that’s just passed

Or the same as the one year

That came before last.

And on for forever

I’ll go just repeating

The years in succession

As long as I’m breathing.

It’s all up to me

That much I can see

To make this new year

The most new it can be.

It’s all up to us

Where ever we are

To try and keep trying

To go farther than far.

To reach higher than high

To make new and make better

The most magic year ever!

While looking at the shirt in the market, I felt a little defeated at the fact that it reminded me of the Dr Seuss book, “Oh the Places You’ll Go”. But once I got back to Singapore and re-read the book (because I can do these things, now that virtually every book is available online; *cough* this site here *cough*), I realised that it was on par with Calvin and Hobbes, in terms of having deep content for something that is supposed to be intended for children.

Personally, I feel as though philosophy conveyed under a simple context has the most meaning. When it comes down to it, pretty much everyone is looking for something simple: love, fun, money, fame, happiness, whatever. You don’t need to make it more complicated than that.

 

2 thoughts on “How Market Shopping In Bangkok Ruined My Life

Leave a Reply

