#exchangestudentlife

I’ve been in Singapore for over 2 months now, but just recently, I had one day in particular where it felt like all the realities of being an exchange student hit me at once. To sum things up, I’ve put together a list of things I experienced over the course of a day that were overly exchange-student-y:

1)    Waking up in denial of the fact that I was getting up early to go to class, not to scuba dive

2)     Get lost on my way to class, even though its halfway through the semester

  1. I actually do this back at my actual University from time to time

3)    Notice the impressed look on the professor’s face at the fact that an exchange student is actually in class (and not a foreign country)

4)    Realize all the meeting dates the Singaporeans want to plan to work on a project aren’t going to work because I’m not going to be in the country

  1. Realize why the professor looked so impressed at the fact that I was actually in class

5)    Buying lunch, accidentally try to use Thai Baht coins

TRY and tell me they don't all look similar!

TRY and tell me they don’t all look similar!

6)    Eating lunch, can’t decide whether to use chopsticks or a fork

This should become Singapore's official cutlery!

This should become Singapore’s official cutlery!

7)    Prioritize uploading trip photos to Facebook above schoolwork

8)    Last minute meeting with friends in residence to finalize a trip to Indonesia

  1. Realize that I’ll only be in Singapore for 4 days between Thailand and Indonesia
  2. Count trip planning as “studying” because I’m a tourism major
Yes, I count all of these as study tabs, and yes, I know how jealous you are of my chrome theme

Yes, I count all of these as study tabs, and yes, I know how jealous you are of my chrome theme

9) Understand Singlish well enough to use it ironically on a constant basis, but not well enough so that I can use it seriously without sounding extremely awkward.

Can use slanguage-lah!

Can use slanguage-lah!

Leave a Reply

