En Route to Berastagi

Although I was still on a diving-trip high from Koh Tao, before I knew it, it was time for my next adventure: Berastagi, located in Sumatra, Indonesia.

map

Prompted by nothing more than a free-return-flight deal from Tiger Airways (oh, how I love low-cost carriers) and 2 small words (“Wanna” and “go?”), I soon found myself back in Changi airport, which was quickly becoming my second home here in Singapore, which I was quite enjoying, considering it’s the best airport on the planet AND has a SOUPerlicious, which serves the best sandwiches I’ve had since I’ve been here (incredibly soft bread at a perfect ratio to the amount of toppings, plus a great selection of options).

Awesome Pepper Beef, Ymmy Chicken Pineapple and Bacon & Tokyo Lover <3 <3

Awesome Pepper Beef, Ymmy Chicken Pineapple and Bacon & Tokyo Lover <3 <3 <3

The flight arrived in Medan about 15 minutes after taking off (although the plane was in the air for 1h15min, the last statement is still technically true, because we crossed a time zone line), and from the airport, we needed a cab to Padang Bulang, the bus terminal that would have a ride for us to Berastagi. In Medan (and most other airports for that matter), the price of a taxi decrease significantly with each 10m you walk from the arrivals gates. We eventually arranged TukTuk transport with one driver and proceeded to hop in for a ride. Now, this was a lot easier said than done, as although TukTuks are famous for being cute, mini forms of transportation (they make Smart Cars look like transport trucks), this one was particularly tiny. Tiny to the point where I had to squash my travvel sized head down because the roof was too low. Although it had 3 seats, if you were 1 line-backer-sized person, you’d be struggling to get it. Fortunately, the bus terminal was nearby, and I was able to get up and stretch before acquiring a hunchback.

Okay, I'll admit I kind of loved feeling like a giant for once!

Okay, I’ll admit I kind of loved feeling like a giant for once!

After a conversation which consisted mainly of sign language, we (hoped we had) purchased our tickets to Berastagi, took our seats and were ready to take off. Before departing the terminal, the bus had to load up with additional cargo on the roof and at several points, I turned around to see a pair of feet hanging inside my window.

One of those things you just have to roll with

One of those things you just have to roll with

Eventually, we were officially off to Berastagi, and after some photos and a quick nap, had official left the coastal humidity behind and replaced it with cool, sprawling mountains.

Backgrounds

7 thoughts on “En Route to Berastagi

Leave a Reply

