Out and About Sumatra and Berastagi

Brief pre-note about the title: I never used to think that I had a Canadian accent, but since coming to Singapore, Singaporeans and Americans have loved pointing out how I pronounce words like “out and about” as “oot and aboot”. I’ve only caught myself doing it a handful of times, but apparently it’s a pretty regular occurrence.

Anyways, after all the waterfall free climbing and sunrise volcano trekking, I was ready for a little bit of R&R. Luckily for me, the Sibayak volcano is also home to a natural hot spring. Located partway down the volcano’s slope, this free pit stop is the perfect way to unwind and take in the scenery.

IMG_6691

The cool mountain breezes make the springs ideally tranquilizing (even the family of kids that was visiting was peculiarly calm) and different pools offer varying degrees of heat to suit everyone.

IMG_6678

Even though I had hiked up and down a volcano and soaked in the springs, it was still only 9am (timing gets thrown off so much when you start your day at 3am) and we had plenty of time to explore the surrounding area. The next stop was the Lumbini Buddhist Temple, just outside Berastagi. Another free attraction, the Temple itself was meant to be the main draw of the site, I ended up spending most of my time prancing around the gardens, perusing around the cheerful flowers and taking silly pictures with Buddha.

I thought it looked kind of like a bumblebee. Guess this is what happens when bees get carried away while pollinating ;)

I thought it looked kind of like a bumblebee. Guess this is what happens when bees get carried away while pollinating ;)

Pretty stars!!

Pretty stars!!

me.beat.drum!

me.beat.drum!

All that posing is tiring, okay?

All that posing is tiring, okay?

Last up on the tour was Gundaling hill. Definitely just a hill, not a mountain (especially when compared to Mount Sibayak), Gundaling nonetheless offered some distinguished views of the town.

IMG_6515

Along with some more statues to pose with (I was on a roll, okay!?)

Along with some more statues to pose with (I was on a roll, okay!?)

4 thoughts on “Out and About Sumatra and Berastagi

  1. Those are some beautiful flowers!! I’ve never seen those before.

    w00t! Fellow Canadian! I will follow you just for that. n_n
    There are soooo many Canadian accents. I’ve been doing research lately about it all (because I love language, and also coz I’d never really thought about Canadian accents before). Most people out on the West Coast (as far as I’ve been able to tell so far) actually don’t say ‘about’ like ‘abewt.’ But I think the latter is cooler anyway~ :)

    • Yay! Canada represent!! I think the “stronger” accents are more of an east coast thing (Newfies). I spend a summer out there, and I guess its coming through again now that I’m really in the east!

Leave a Reply

