An Analysis in Singapore Stair Climbing

After returning from my active volcano-trekking stint in Indonesia, I decided that upon returning to Singapore, I was going to keep up the healthy active-ness and start jogging again. After a few days of procrastinating “its too humid out to exercise, I’ll sweat to pieces before I even get out of my hall”, “I should really get this assignment done first” I finally ran out of excuses (“but I want to finish this game of bubble shooter” wasn’t going to cut it).

I put my running shorts and pump-up music on and was ready to be on my way. However, about 5 minutes into the run, my calves gave out completely, and I had to turn around and go back. Unable to understand when my body had become such a wimp (I had just climbed a volcano a few days ago and was fine), I went to sleep confused and defeated.

A few days later, a friend of mine mentioned how much more toned his legs had gotten since coming to Singapore, and attributed this to the amount of walking and stair climbing he does everyday. At first, I didn’t think much of this, assuming that he was just over exaggerating. However, after yet another failed jogging attempt, which further fuelled my desire to prove that I’m not regularly too wimpy to go for runs, I decided to look deeper into this whole “climbing a ton of stairs everyday” thing.

It even counts as a legit workout of you do it in running shoes!

It even counts as a legit workout of you do it in running shoes!

Being the business student that I am, this involved performing a full research and analysis-style report. This will analyse the amount of stairs the student in question climbs on an average day, and compare it to her decreased ability to jog as follows:

Data for this report was collected to reflect the regular proceedings of the Nanyang Technological University (NTU) student in questions. Such activities involve getting ready in the morning and walking between the business library, classes, canteens and lounges before returning to the student’s hall of residence and were transposed into the following graph.

Figure 1. Storeys Climbed Versus Time Graph

Stair Climbing Graph

Upon further analysis, it was found that the NTU student climbed a total of 27 storeys during a typical day, proving to be a significant workout for the students’ hamstrings, quadriceps, calves and gluteus maximus (Lunardoni, 2012). For this reason, it will not be assumed that the student is too physically unfit for jogging, she is simply receiving a comparable amount of physical activity from her stair climbing exercises.

References

Lunardoni, C. (2012). How Many Calories are Expended Climbing a Flight of Stairs? Retrieved from http://www.livestrong.com/article/307968-many-calories-expended-climbing-flight-stairs/

(On a side note, I’m now just confused about why I’m procrastinating writing a business report for school by writing other, unnecessary reports)

6 thoughts on “An Analysis in Singapore Stair Climbing

      • …….Business teachers aren’t allowed to be psychic, that just doesn’t make sense..! (Come to think of it though, we were pretty business savvy, “bending” the rules so we would do better in the class, pretty in line with most big-business ethics!)

Leave a Reply

