MAAD Trip to Bras Basah

One of the first places I visited in Singapore was the Red Dot Design Museum; unfortunately it wasn’t fully open while I was there, so I was only able to see enough to know I needed more. Basically, it was a pretty similar story to what happened with The Art of The Brick ArtScience museum exhibit: I promised myself I would visit the museum long enough to do it justice, but ended up putting it off for months. This time however, I’m going to give myself a bit of a break for this because I found out that one Friday of every month, they put on this event called MAAD: Market of Artists And Designers.

Even on the actual MAAD date though, I ended up getting kind of distracted and touring around the Bras Basah area – its full of museums and pretty little shops.

In my defence, I also went back to the Singapore City Gallery to fully check IT out too!

In my defence, I also went back to the Singapore City Gallery to fully check IT out too!

coconut candies from an outdoor shop in Chinatown - yuuuum!

coconut candies from an outdoor shop in Chinatown – yuuuum!

K Ki - "the little drom store" (home to the cutest kick knacks and pastries)

K Ki – “the little drom store” (home to the cutest kick knacks and pastries)

Because I can't go anywhere without taking pictures of flowers..!

Because I can’t go anywhere without taking pictures of flowers..!

I thought graffiti was illegal in Singapore!?

I thought graffiti was illegal in Singapore!?

After (more than just) a little while, it was enough with the distractions and on to MAAD. In a nutshell, its a free event that features a bunch of Singaporean artists selling everything from pudding (from Petit Pudding), to retro accessories (from wheniwasfour) to henna tattoos (from Dottinghill) with a product-release style similar to Threadless, where people submit their designs, vote on their favourites to have the most popular ones made into actual tattoos.

Also, mohjito freeze pops!

Also, mohjito freeze pops!

The event also featured the band The Pinholes to perform on a stage surrounded by pillow-covered astro-turf for people to sit on while watching. The atmosphere was great, the band had a fun, poppy style (and cute matching outfits), but the performance was a little bit rough around the edges.

All of that shopping was pretty tiring, and eventually I needed a food break. Fortunately, the Maxwell Hawker Centre was right down the road. Although Tian Tian Chicken Rice is supposed to be the best meal to order (which is easy to tell when you get there because of the massive lineups in front of the stall), I decided to go for some shark meat instead. It had a nice white-meat flavour that wasn’t too fishy (I heard later that shark is called the chicken of the sea because of the similarity in taste).

Rice Porridge and Shark Meat

Although regular shark meat isn’t as ethically horrible as shark fin soup, sharks still face major problems with overfishing so although the meat itself was pretty good, it’s not something I would eat more than once.

After dinner, it was back to the Red Dot Design Museum to actually check out some of the museum. They had a bunch of random products on display as exhibits (which I’m guessing have won design awards), along with a funky plastic cutlery wall.

I've been using plastic plates wrong for so long, they work waaaaay better as art!

I’ve been using plastic plates wrong for so long, they work waaaaay better as art!

 

Leave a Reply

