70 Stories of Food in Swissôtel’s Equinox

 While I admit I’ve recently been enjoying getting away from the city, its not something that I wanted to run away from, especially if I was going to be tempted with a meal from Swissôtel The Stamford’s Equinox Restaurant. Eating in Singapore is considered a national pastime and as such, the city is bursting with both hawker centres and high-end celebrity restaurants like Wolfgang Puck’s CUT and (soon to be) Jaime Oliver’s Jaime’s Italian (I also have to point out: EEEEE!! Jaime Oliver!! <3).

EEEEE!! (Okay, now I'm done)

EEEEE!! Pretty Knife!! :P

Since Jaime’s Italian isn’t actually open yet and I’m also partial to FRHI (Fairmont Raffles Hotels International, consisting of the Fairmont, Raffles and Swissôtel groups), when a friend called me up to go to Swissôtel’s Equinox, I wasn’t going to say no.

Even just showing up at the restaurant is an even in itself. It’s located on the 70th floor of the hotel and boasts panoramic views of the entire city and even parts of Malaysia. Most people love going to the top of Marina Bay Sands for its view of the city, but personally, I prefer being able to see it as part of my view.

EEEEE!! Pretty view!!

EEEEE!! Pretty view!!

EEEEEE!!! MORE pretty views!!

EEEEEE!!! MORE pretty views!!

After treating my eyes to an enthralling panoramic view, it was time to give my taste buds a turn and actually do what I was here for – food!

Since we were there for lunch, the main feature is a semi buffet. This means that you order a fixed-plate entrée, but get to choose your own appetizers and desserts buffet-style. For me, this meant a double helping of appetizers (they were just too appetizing for only 1 plate, oh how I’m so puny) with prawns, clams, muscles, prosciutto, artichoke and olives in round 1 and fresh salad, sashimi and octopus and cucumber sushi in round 2:

 

OM NOM NOM

OM NOM NOM

Salad has become much to exciting for me..!

Salad has become much to exciting for me..!

While I could easily have gone back for appetizers about 7 more times without even having to eat the same thing twice, it was time to move onto my main fish course. While the fish itself was great quality, the flavouring was a bit bland and the overall presentation was a bit underwhelming after all the colourful appetizers.

 

These plates are also really awkward to carry when you have more than 2 #banquetserverproblems

These plates are also really awkward to carry when you have more than 2 #banquetserverproblems

To finish things off with desert, I went with mango ice cream, plum, watermelon and green tea cake. Ice cream of any kind is my weakness and this was no exception!

(even just uploading these pictures is making me feel full again!)

(even just uploading these pictures is making me feel full again!)

Altogether, it was definitely the best meal I had in Singapore, especially after all the canteen food on rez – plus the view wasn’t bad either, a definite recommendation if you’re downtown!

Equinox Restaurant, Swissôtel The Stamford

2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882

(65) 6337 3322

reservations@equinoxcomplex.com

Sunday Brunch 11am – 2:30pm

Monday – Saturday Lunch 12 – 2:30pm

High Tea 3:30 – 5pm (everyday)

Dinner 6:30 – 10:30pm (everyday)

 

Leave a Reply

