EEEEE!! Pretty Sky!!

Now, I loved my time in Singapore, and being able to tell exactly when it was 7am, 4pm and 7pm because the country gets pretty much exactly 12hours of sunlight everyday, all year long and it rained like clockwork everyday at 4pm. However, one thing that continues to blow my mind on a constant basis in the Northwest Territories is the amount of… SKY that there is here.

Seriously, its just so big and blue!!

Seriously, its just so big and blue!!

I used to think phrases like “land of the midnight sun” were exaggerations, but the literally never fully sets up here. You get a few hours of dusk-iness around 2am, but never any full darkness.

In addition to the insane sky, my place is literally a few steps away from the Slave River – connecting Lake Athabasca and Great Slave Lake, its home to the best white water rapids in North America, and the boardwalk that runs along side it in Fort Smith makes for a great jogging route. Seriously, I don’t even realize I’m being physically active, my jaw just drops staring at it.

Rivers AND skies together are just too much awesome for me to handle!

Rivers AND skies together are just too much awesome for me to handle!

To say the least, I had way too much fun taking these photos after 8pm – if only to spite the fact that I tried taking photos at Marina Bay in Singapore around this time, and I had to choose between setting the shutter speed way to low for my then tripodless arms or having it look like the lens cap was still on the camera!

IMG_8761

I took the sign as a challenge (the edge wasn’t even THAT bad)!

Also, vehicles (and trailers) have awesome polar bear-shaped license plates!

Also, vehicles (and trailers) have awesome polar bear-shaped license plates!

My shadow is soo tall!! :D

My shadow is soo tall!! :D

In summary: I’ve been overdosing on vitamin D because of all the sun here!

 

Leave a Reply

