Out And About Camping in Yellowknife (Part 2)

In case you’re like me and find joining in partway through a set intimidating (I’m actually quite insufferable about this with movies and am a lost cause with Star Wars because I don’t even know where to begin since the films weren’t released in chronological order), here’s a recap of last time’s episode: I walked around and ate things in Yellowknife, ending up in Old Town. It’s a lot to digest, I know. Feel free to give yourself some time to take it all in.

Now that we’re all up to speed, I’ll continue on by saying that my journey across Old Town then lead me to the Pilot’s Monument. This is basically a big hill that oversees all of Old Town and the surrounding Great Slave Lake. While I found the fact that the waterway was dotted with brightly coloured floating houses adorable and full of personality, the city of Yellowknife thinks they’re an eyesore and wants to ban people from building anymore.

Whoo hoo! I learned how to create panorama shots!

Whoo hoo! I learned how to create panorama shots!

I'm actually really curious to know how Yellowknife defines "eyesore"

I’m actually really curious to know how Yellowknife defines “eyesore”

After shoving my eyeballs back in their sockets (because they popped out as the view was so incredulous – I definitely thought I was making up that word, but spell check tells me its legit), it was back to central Yellowknife.

Back in 2011, Prince William and Kate Middleton decided to grace Yellowknife with their presence, so as a thank-you, the town created a park, just for them. Now, Fort Smith is “supposed” to be the garden capital of the north, but I have to say that this park puts our town to shame [hint-hint: Will and Kate (and George too now I guess), come visit us so that we re-compensate]!

I love taking macro photos of flowers. You really should have seen this one coming.

I love taking macro photos of flowers. You really should have seen this one coming.

Why isn't this how ALL benches are designed?

Why isn’t this how ALL benches are designed?

IMG_9547

Because crazy angles make everything cooler!

I kind of fell in love with Yellowknife's signage (#packagingdesignproblems). This one is front of the Fireweed Design studio - also super cute!

I kind of fell in love with Yellowknife’s signage (#packagingdesignproblems). This one is in front of the Fireweed Design studio – also super cute!

Waterfront love <3

Waterfront love <3

After the gardens (and several souvenir places filled with narwhal horns I wasn’t allowed to take pictures of), it was back to Old Town for dinner at the Wildcat Café. The establishment is known for being the oldest restaurant in Yellowknife, opening in 1937. More interestingly, the owners were named Willie Wylie and Smokey Stout; two names that would both have been ridiculously badass to have. Since then, the restaurant was closed between 1951 and 1979 and during this time, generations of lobbyists were passionate enough to rally to keep the building from being demolished, but not passionate enough to restore it to a functioning restaurant. It’s now managed by a specialty Wildcat Café Advisory Committee and serves drinks in mason jars (something that, as a practical traveller who can’t be bringing breakable glassware all over the place, personally appreciates) and the best French fires north of 60 (I thought this was just  Fort Smith thing because we’re literally 0.01 degrees north of 60, but apparently ALL of the territories love this fact). It doesn’t have the same personality of Bullock’s per say, but is still very much a must-see in Yellowknife.

I have yet to find a drink that doesn't taste significantly better when it comes from a mason jar

I have yet to find a drink that doesn’t taste significantly better when it comes from a mason jar

If you end up in a situation like me, where you’re at the café with a big group, in order to decide who’s going to pay the bill, pile all of your phones Jenga-style in the middle of the table and whoever grabs theirs first has to pay the tab :P

The "how addicted to your phone are you" test. Proud to say that I didn't fail. The laptop version probably would have been a different story!

The “how addicted to your phone are you” test. Proud to say that I didn’t fail. The laptop version probably would have been a different story!

After a great meal, it was time to head back to Fred Henne Territorial Park (getting back to the camping in Yellowknife part of the deal) in time to catch some Folk on the Rocks action tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

