An Evolution of Northern Flowers

Fort Smith is self-proclaimed garden capital of the north, despite the fact that Yellowknife created an entire garden (the Loraine Miniah-Cooper) to commemorate Prince William and Kate Middleton coming to visit the city in 2011.

Yellowknife has steam-punk-y benches and gardens dedicated to Prince Will and Kate! How can you compete with that!?

Yellowknife has steam-punk-y benches and gardens dedicated to Prince Will and Kate! How can you compete with that!?

However, in the north, summer draws to a close quickly and in the final days of my life north of the 60th parallel, I could feel the crisp fall air blowing and decided to do like our famous pelicans and prepare to migrate “south” (to Toronto) for the fall (I don’t really consider Toronto to have a winter season, the closest the city has ever gotten to snow while I’ve been there is a gray-ish slush).

While living in the north, but somehow avoiding the cold, I was able to experience the entire northern flower period during my short 3 months. Since I love flowers (and taking photos of them), here’s a small sample of the 57,000,000 flowers that bloomed around the garden capital over the summer (in chronological order, cause I’m organized like that!):

Budding horsetail plant. After pulling about 100,000 of these from the museum's gardens, I'm a little embarrassed to say I think they're kind of cute!

Budding horsetail plant. After pulling about 100,000 of these from the museum’s gardens, I’m a little embarrassed to say I think they’re kind of cute!

Now we get to some REAL flowers, whoo hoo!

Now we get to some REAL flowers, whoo hoo!

IMG_8764 IMG_9178 IMG_9179 IMG_9184

Altogether, the summer was an amazing experience! While I was in Singapore, people would ask me about Canada all the time and while I had spent summers in New Brunswick (the east) and Alberta (the west), I knew absolutely nothing about the north. Working at the museum gave me an amazing opportunity to learn about local cultures and histories and although I didn’t get to see any narwhals (which is now #1 on my northern-adventure list), I loved every part of it and will deeply miss my friends and experiences I had while I was up here.

IMG_9174

In summary: I posted a bunch of photos of pretty flowers and wrote a sappy paragraph about my northern adventure.

4 thoughts on “An Evolution of Northern Flowers

Leave a Reply

