Out and About in Hog’s Back Park, Ottawa

While the Ottawa Folk Festival was definitely the main thing that drew me to Hog’s Back Park, I was also lucky enough to discover the park was full of more amazing waterfalls, rainbows and alpacas – what more does anyone need really?

IMG_0236

Hog’s Back actually got its name from the waterfalls that run through it. Apparently, they used to look like the back of a pig, but now have gotten too eroded to have any of the original resemblance. Personally, I can’t even imagine how a waterfall could possibly look like a pig and think the discoverers of the lake were tired after a long day of discovery and were just really craving bacon.

Definitely not a hog

Definitely not a hog

Bird Fight!

Bird Fight!

And also a pirate ship, no big deal!

And also a pirate ship, no big deal!

I was also on a bit of a museum-withdrawal after leaving my museum job up north, so after some quick searching around, I found out The Canada Agriculture and Food Museum was just up the road and even had a mini alpaca farm. Needless to say, I sprinted my way over and squealed at all the animals for a good hour (the museum was free to go to from 4-5pm – closing time). A lot of it was geared towards kids, but I act like a 5 year around cute things anyways, I didn’t really care.

Alpacas look so ridiculous without their fleece :P

Alpacas look so ridiculous without their fleece :P

Baby calfs on the other hand are just absolutely adorable!

Baby calfs on the other hand are just absolutely adorable!

 

Not gunna lie, I'm pretty jealous of this guy's curls!

Not gunna lie, I’m pretty jealous of this guy’s curls!

Turkeys are MUCH too intense!

Turkeys are MUCH too intense!

I think this hog is just happy not being a waterfall!

I think this hog is just happy not being a waterfall!

Would a trip for me be complete without flowers?

Would a trip for me be complete without flowers?

(The answer is "no" by the way)

(The answer is “no” by the way)

Leave a Reply

