Welcome to Big White

As much fun as Vancouver and Seattle were, in order to survive in the Wild, Wild West, I was going to have to face reality and admit that I was going to have to earn some money (especially with all of the fancy powder ski shopping that was going on).

In order to face reality as indirectly as possible, I figured that if I was going to have to get a job, it was going to be located directly on a ski hill, so I could convince myself that I wasn’t actually going to work, and was instead just taking a (8hour) walking break from between the bottom of the lift and my ski-in ski-out chalet. Since walking uphill for even a couple of minutes in ski boots becomes ridiculous, it seemed justifiable.

So with that, I soon found myself standing in line with hordes of Australians at a job fair in Kelowna, hoping to land a job on the slopes of Big White. After much too short of an interview and much too long anxiously waiting in a hostel, I got a call and employment status (along with an accompanying season pass for Big White) was achieved – hooray for being a functioning member of society!

Once unemployment had been successfully avoided, homeless followed suit and – all in the same day – I was also set with luxury chalet for the season. Basically only possible because Big White decided to quickly develop its village right before the recession of ’08, ’09 (yeah, I’m going to talk about this like it was a long time ago). They built a ton of luxury chalets just in time to realize no one could afford to spend a mountain of cash bigger than the slope they were visiting. With that, most properties realized they would make more money renting their nice chalets out to staff for an entire season at a cheap rate, than charging a huge fee, but having the unit remain empty for 95% of the season (look at me, using my revenue management knowledge – see, I did productive things in Singapore)!

Just as soon as I had gotten settled in, the village was coated with a layer of snow. I had been avoiding the cold for years, seeking refuge in big polluted cities like Toronto and tropical Southeast Asian countries, but now my camera, Sir White Out and I were ready for it!

As much as whine about the cold, its also pretty pretty!

As much as whine about the cold, its also pretty pretty!

Building a snowman like a SIR!

Building a snowman like a SIR!

I may not have any flowers to take photos of, but I think I'll be okay with trees in the mean time ;)

I may not have any flowers to take photos of, but I think I’ll be okay with trees in the mean time ;)

 

4 thoughts on “Welcome to Big White

Leave a Reply

