EEEEE!! Pretty Sunrise!!

With my sleep schedule being on the same line of consistency as my address, I found myself being woken up at (what I thought was) a ridiculously early hour in order to see one of the first sunrises of the season. Big White has earned the nickname “Big White Out” because of all the snowfall and low-lying clouds that pass over it. A lot of the time, visibility isn’t a lot more than this:

Polarbear_in_a_snow_storm_by_calderza

(This isn’t just A polar bear in a snowstorm, its several dozen, the one you can see is just standing a couple of millimetres in front of the others)

Just kidding! Conditions are a lot clearer and you can even see some trees from time to time:

I need to keep colour reference points in my field of vision, otherwise, I keep thinking I've gotten sucked into a black and white movie

I need to keep colour reference points in my field of vision, otherwise, I keep thinking I’ve gotten sucked into a black and white movie

This is also only about 1/5th of the way up the mountain and I couldn’t see the bottom! Conditions only get whiter as you go up!

However, one fateful morning, the skies parted and I was able to get a glimpse of what, the sky!? No way! Pure insanity!

What is this large blue area floating on top of the tree line?

What is this large orange and blue area floating on top of the tree line?

More importantly, what is this burning ball of fire in the sky!?

More importantly, what is this burning ball of fire in the sky!?

Don't walk towards the light! Who knows what will happen! Cancer, tans, a source of heat!? Any number of terrible things!

Don’t walk towards the light! Who knows what will happen! Cancer, tans, a source of heat!? Any number of terrible things!

It may not be a source of powder snow, but its pretty - I say we enjoy it!

It may not be a source of powder snow, but its pretty – I say we enjoy it!

One thought on “EEEEE!! Pretty Sunrise!!

  1. The last two days I have been absolutely distracted by the gorgeous skies to even focus on what my board was doing! Good for you for actually seeing the sunrise. I sleep in too late.

Leave a Reply

