Broken Bones, Mexican Drug Cartels and Key Lime Pie (AKA My Welcome to Kelowna)

To bring the ski season to a crashing halt, my (older but neither wiser nor more mature) boyfriend decided to attempt an XL jump in the park of Big White Ski Resort. Without looking back, he punted himself off the jump, realized he had been going at a breakneck speed, flipped out and landed flat on his back.

(Sidenote: I’m not apologizing for or taking back ANY puns – it’s taken me everything to not break down and crack them in front of my boyfriend, so I’m using this post to do so behind his back instead.)

(Continuing with the story…) after a laughing gas-induced trip down the mountain to Kelowna General Hospital, the doctors had determined he fractured his lumbar 2 vertebrate and would need an operation to put the fractured pieces back together and get his spine screwed back into place.

Fortunately, the Canadian surgeons proved they’re all their cracked up to be and my boyfriend is now back up and walking his way to a complete recovery in less than half a year’s time!

To celebrate his recent release from the hospital, I decided to find a way of giving him a taste of the surf culture he’s realized he’ll have to miss out on while he’s still in recovery. I knew there had to be a way that wouldn’t involve either of us having to bend over backwards and a lucky connection with SoBo (the Sophisticated Bohemian), made the search pretty easy!

SoBo began as a food truck in Tofino, BC in 2003, serving fresh, locally sourced meals and evolved into a delicious full-scale restaurant 4 years later. Their recipes have been so popular, they’re about to release their own cookbook (which I was able to get my hands on early) – you can check it out here!

Delicious recipes await!!

Flipping through the book, I found a recipe for Key Lime Pie, fell head over heels in love at first sight and found myself racing to the grocery store.

I was bribed with photos like this!! Come on, I had no choice but to try it for myself!

I was bribed with photos like this!! Come on, I had no choice but to try it for myself!

Since I also love all you beautiful followers so much, I’ll give you the full play-by-play of how I assembled the pie (which I had FAR too much fun doing, just to warn you):

1) Start off by assembling a simple enough grocery list:

IMG_1191

(Sidenote: my shopping was unfortunately complicated slightly by Mexican drug cartels. They’ve recently become unhappy with all the farmers they’ve been sourcing their limes from and have stopped the exportation of virtually all of Mexico’s limes. Personally, I think they realized that the profit margin of exporting illegal drugs is much higher than that of limes and that it simply wasn’t worth their while to continue.)

2) Now it’s time to preheat the oven to 250F

3) From there, use a touch of the butter to grease the sides of a 9 inch pie dish and draw a smiley face in the middle

;) - totally necessary part of the process!

Yes, the smiley face IS necessary, smiley faces are ALWAYS necessary!

4) Next, mix the graham cracker crumbs, butter and sugar together

They should be more than willing to mix together!

Look how excited they are to be together! (Butter’s a bit of a party pooper on this one though..)

5) Once mixed, the recipe says the ingredients should “resemble wet sand”

IMG_1200

A good way to test the sandy consistency is to build a sand cottage in the bowl

6) Demolish your newly constructed dream home and repurpose it into a pie crust by packing it into the sides of your pie dish (you won’t need to make it too thick)

Something that's as painful for the crust as it will be for you

Demolishing your dream is unfortunately as painful for the crust as it will be for you

7) Stop being sad about the dream home by remembering that you will soon have a delicious pie

8) Stick the pie in the oven for 8 minutes

9) While it’s baking, separate the the egg yolks from the egg whites. I found the best way it to crack the egg in half and transfer the yolk back and forth between the two half shells. Each time you move it, more of the whites will slip out

Not going to lie, I may have just gotten my hair cut and was looking for an excuse to take selfies

Cracking eggs with my TEETH! (Not going to lie, I may have just gotten my hair cut and was looking for an excuse to take selfies.. Also, if you’re in Kelowna, Fringe is a great salon)

10) Whisk the eggs up with the condensed milk

The milk cans may be sad about getting emptied, but show no mercy, you need their deliciousness!

The milk cans may be sad about getting emptied, but show no mercy, you need their deliciousness!

11) By now (or maybe sooner, depending on how long you spend taking selfies of your egg-cracking), the pie crust should resemble Mickey Mouse and be ready to take out of the oven

Yes, the pie SHOULD come out with a cartoonized face!

Yes, the pie SHOULD come out with a cartoonized face!

12) Time to juice up those drug cartel-limes! I actually bought a cheap manual juicer, but actually found that squeezing them with my bare hands worked better

I also felt like more of a badass for destroying limes this way as well!

I also felt like more of a badass for destroying limes this way as well!

13) Almost done! Mix the juice in with the eggs and milk, then pour it into the pie crust

14) Zip that pie back in the oven for 6 minutes

15) While the pie’s back in the oven, blend the whipping cream and vanilla together until it starts to form fluffy peaks (yes, you’ll need a blender, trust me, I tried hand-whipping and it’s not something you want to do)

16) Throw the pie out of the oven and let it set in the fridge for 4 hours

It was a very painful 4 hours of waiting, not going to lie

It was a very painful 4 hours of waiting, not going to lie

17) OM NOM NOM it to delicious pieces!

18) Check out more recipes from The Sobo Cookbook!

4 thoughts on “Broken Bones, Mexican Drug Cartels and Key Lime Pie (AKA My Welcome to Kelowna)

  1. Pingback: College Tourist Global Writer’s Round Up | The College Tourist

  2. Pingback: Dining Around The Culinary Capital of Kelowna (A Travvelsized Odyssey) | Twice as much in half the space

Leave a Reply

